Share data

Create & share workspace

In Parsec, data are stored into workspaces, each workspace having it own policy for read and write access.

So before adding data to Parsec we must create a workspace:

Creating workspace process

The creator of the workspace automatically gets the Owner role, as shown above, and can then share the workspace with other users.

Sharing workspace process

Regarding the different sharing roles:

  • Reader: has read-only access to the workspace

  • Contributor: has read&write access

  • Manager: same access as Contributor, but can give Reader and Contributor roles to other users.

  • Owner: same as Manager, but can also give Manager and Owner roles to other users. On top of that, owners are responsible for maintenance tasks such as workspace re-encryption.

Warning

Just like a user with a single device is bad because there is no fall-back if something happens to it, having a workspace with a single user is dangerous.

Strong cryptographic security prevent data recovery if the user is lost or cannot log in. For this reason it is better to share the workspace with other users.

Upload data

Once the workspace is created, it appears in the file explorer as a regular folder.

Note

Although workspaces are mounted by default, they can be unmounted or mounted back using the toggle at the bottom left of the workspace card. When a workspace is unmounted, his data are not accessible in Parsec, and it is not reachable through the regular file explorer of the computer.

workspaces unmounted and mounted

Parsec also proposes its own file manager, accessible when clicking on a mounted workspace.

Parsec in file explorer

Data copied from file explorer also appear into the Parsec client. On top of that the Parsec client also displays the current synchronization state of each file (showing whether the modification are only present locally or if they have been synced with the server and hence are visible by everybody with access to the workspace).

Note

Parsec client can work while offline (however only the data present locally are available), synchronization will occur automatically as soon as the connection with the server is achieved.